29 and Awesome!

IM-SORRY-I-COULD-NOT-HEAR-YOU-OVER-HOW-AWESOME-I-AM

Last week, I hit the milestone of the final year of my 20’s. This was a terrifying thought for all involved, who keep reminding me that I need to enjoy my 20’s while it lasts. I’ll admit, thanks to this I did have a teeny tiny freak out but I eventually told myself to get a grip. I actually can’t wait to turn 30. I am setting no goals or plans to hit at all, I don’t care if I will be single or taken, that I will still be asked for ID everywhere, that I don’t own my own house or what I will be doing in life at that time. I will hit 30 pressure free 🙂

My minor quarter life crisis included me thinking that I needed to sort out every area in my life right now, making me think that most of it was going wrong, when in fact it’s all actually bloody brilliant! I have my lovely family, a job, a roof over my head and food in my cupboards. What more could a girl need?!

My crisis point did have some lasting effects. I have continued to do meditation and yoga, still playing my ukulele and moaning about useless shit I can’t change a lot less. I am taking the time to do things that I have always wanted to do, including doing pin up shoots and not actually caring about people’s opinions.

One thing that didn’t stick was my ‘alcohol free april’. I genuinely don’t give a shit that I failed at this one. I had a brilliant day/night out with my lovely family and just as good a day recovery on Sunday.

I am five days in to being 29 and i’m living the dream. In February i relocated to a totally new area, away from my family and friends, somewhere that I had only drove through once and didn’t know a soul. I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone thinking it would challenge me, so far it has indeed! As cliché as it sounds I have actually rediscovered something I had been looking for. I am totally back to being myself, the person that I hadn’t seen for over 8ish years. We have all been there, when people try to make you feel like a bag of hot, sweaty shite. Nasty comments said at the right time can send you on that downward spiral of self-hatred and make you believe every put down. Not anymore. I know my worth, I’m not those names that I have been called and while I am not perfect, I love my imperfections!

So what if I swear like a Docker, love a drink, wear old clothes, choose to dye my hair ginger, don’t have the perfect figure, I’m stubborn as hell and the height of a midget. I couldn’t care less, in fact..i’m awesome and i love it!

Leave a Reply

