Living the dream

when-you-wake-up-with-no-hangover-7714539

Its Friday night, I am off work and I am sober. In other news, hell has frozen over. I am well and truly powering through my alcohol free April and finding it a lot easier than I thought I would! I don’t miss my ‘one glass that turns into a bottle’ of wine after work, my night off beers or my raging hangovers that leave me screaming into the bog all day. In fact I am sat here, doing my usual Friday night routine of watching BBC 4’s music documentaries and drinking alcohol free wine or Chenin Blanc, Tesco’s finest don’t you know, allegedly.

At the start of this I thought great, I will lose the few evil pounds that have crept on since my breakup diet ended and I would save a fair bit of wedge. Instead of this, I seem to have done the total opposite. I have replaced buying alcohol with chocolate, popcorn, copious amount of carbs and shopping. In my defence, my shopping has been mainly Vintage for a photoshoot so I’m not counting that. Also, flowers, candles, face masks and lush bath bombs are all essential purchases right?!

Now I am not spending my days like a hot mess and feeling sorry for myself, I had no idea what to do. So I’ve started learning my ukulele, trying to get my head into meditating, attempted yoga, attempted running, arranging and planning photo shoots and I spend more time in the park than the ducks. I now drink herbal tea too and I’m loving all of it. I may have to change my name again now I’m a new woman!

A few people who know me, those that know I can drink most under the table before turning into an emotional mess and ruining my life, say that I can’t do it. Next week, the impending birthday night out, will be the big one. Now I am more looking forward to throwing my vintage dress on and enjoying my meal knowing that I won’t see it again in the morning. PREACH.

So cheers to everyone having a drink, enjoy your hangover, I will be joining you at 00.00 on 1st May and hammered by 00.02.

Leave a Reply

